Archive for May, 2011

Microsoft wants your feedback on security bulletin information. Survey here: Security Bulletin Survey

RoboForm: Learn more...
Share

Online criminals know there are enough gadget hounds out there to make a scam surrounding any shiny new Apple device a surefire moneymaker. To that end, they’ve already begun sending out phishing emails for the iPhone 5.

The phishing emails appear to be official emails from Apple.com, with the title “Finally. The amazing iPhone 5. Now available in black edition.” The body of the message shows a hand holding a transparent iPhone, followed by an enticing offer to “check it out,” according to MacRumors.

Although there’s been much speculation about the next generation iPhone, Apple has not set a release date for it. In fact, Apple hasn’t even announced it yet, but that isn’t stopping this cleverly crafted Mac-themed scam from spreading.

So what are you checking out when you click the link to see the new iPhone 5?

You won’t receive any info about the smartphone, but you will enable a rigged Windows file to run malicious code on your computer. And you’ll also be taken to a phony Apple Web page that asks for your Apple ID and other sensitive information.

Apple announces new products, especially ones of this magnitude, in highly publicized press conferences. So if you receive an unsolicited email purporting to have information about the new iPhone 5, ignore it, DELETE IT WITHOUT EVEN READING IT.

story from: http://www.securitynewsdaily.com/cybercriminals-hoping-youll-bite-iphone-5-bait-0813/

This malware is quite well detected by many antivirus companies, but not all. It is a fairly standard Zapchast IRC trojan that will attempt to download lots of other crap & malware to your computer.

It also appears to try to  perform a DDOS flood attack against several other competing Mirc users and channels to block their channels, so no doubt will turn out to be connected to the typical fake AV scams and stealing your money

Share
I wonder how effective the phishers will be sending this to countless people.
I doubt that there are enough Irish speakers/readers in the world to make it worthwhile
Translated it says
Dear Applicant:
We have noticed that you are entitled to a refund amount 361.43
Complete the tax refund 24h: Tax Return Form 2011
Thanks,
Irish Revenue

Irish revenue scam

 

I have received 5 of these in the last hour. 2 from chinese servers but 3 from different domains on Fasthost.co.uk servers. It looks to me that either fasthosts have been hacked again or they have open relays on their servers allowing bots & phishers to relay through them

 

 

Share
There is a new spam bot out there sending a malware link. see  screenshot
screen shot of spam email

screenshot of typical spam email

all emails so far appear to originate from a Ukrainian server noc.maximuma.net  91.196.148.8  which may or may not have been hacked, but web searches suggest that lots of spam & malware is being distributed via that server hosting company
So far I have seen several different sites hosting the malware and the senders & recipient email addresses are all random or spoofed
At present antivirus detection is very sporadic but samples have been sent to all known AV companies  so I do expect a better detection rate very shortly
The current payload is always order.zip, which when extracted pretends to be order.doc  but has a lot of spaces then .exe so simply clicking on it will infect you
It appears to be a downloader or installer for one of the fake Antivirus programs, that currently plague us.
You can see a quick automatic  analysis on the Anubis website From previous experience of this sort of malware and the locations it installs itself to , I would not be at all surprised if the malware shown in the Anubis report also installs the TDL4 bootkit
Update: they have changed the email slightly to something that resembles a previous attack attempt and included a “your  credit card will be charged with xxxxx $
That always gets the unwary to follow the link, to check if it is their card that has been falsely charged

Revised updated email, showing alleged credit card charge

Results are coming in from many antivirus companies now, saying that it is a version of the spyeyes crimeware toolkit. Spyeyes is well described  in this Symantec blog

 

Share