Many of us in the security community are concerned about misleading adverts. This one in particular has started to make waves within the wider Technical support community. It is frequently displayed on blogs & forums offering free technical support and appears designed to fool a user into thinking that they are getting Microsoft Technical Support, when in fact the link goes to a site that makes you pay for help and assistance that has absolutely no connection to Microsoft as a company
The advert below is the one in question. Click on it to get a full size image
We all understand that adverts are a necessity in todays world to defray costs in running a website and an occasional rogue or misleading advert will slip through. I use Google adsense here on this blog and hope that all the adverts will be honest and above board. All webmasters, blog owners and Forums admins do need to keep an eye open for such adverts. Google must take a high degree of responsibility and start to police its advertising system more closely and weed out these deliberately misleading adverts.
The Company Justanswer.com who publish the adverts should be ashamed of themselves and I ask all readers to avoid that company and any others that use such underhand tactics to drive vulnerable visitors to their site.

